Introducing The Healthy Hipster

Dear blog readers,

Think of this post as our first date. I don’t know you. You don’t know me. And I have a very short window here to explain everything about myself, my point of view and why I think I’m worthy of your precious online attention. So forgive me if I can’t quite cover it all in one go.

So let’s start with the most obvious question you may have: what’s with the name?

While I consider myself a little past my “hipster heyday,” to most I’d probably still fit the bill. I listen to music you’ve never heard of, buy trendy clothes from overpriced vintage stores, stop going to bars once too many people find out about them, use literary references in everyday speech, genuinely enjoy contemporary art and get a little too enthusiastic about nostalgia. And yes I idolize Ira Glass, Wes Anderson and Dave Eggers.

Have I lost you yet? Stay with me. While hipsters may not always be associated with healthy food (ahem…emaciated American Apparel employees anyone?) or active lifestyles (cardio eye rolling) I decided long ago that even though I shared their taste in movies, music, fashion and 1990s melodramatic television I did not share the apathetic tendencies of the “sceney” lifestyle. Too much pabst makes me feel like crapst.

So that’s basically it. The Healthy Hipster chronicles the life of one gal striving to bring together the strange bedfellows of hipsterdom and healthy living – and its all right here for you to get inspired by, judge harshly and enjoy.

Oh yes…if you’re thinking to yourself right now “Doesn’t calling yourself a hipster automatically negate your hipster status?” Then you are clearly familiar with the ways of this world…maybe even too familiar. So to you I say…shut up you f***ing hipster. Im doin me. 🙂

Yours truly, the healthy hipster.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Emily

     /  June 4, 2011

    Wow. You really seem like a pretentious douche, which means you are definitely a hipster.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

