Lunchbox Lifesaver: Sunday Meal Prep!

Tomorrow morning marks the beginning of my new job which means so long takeout, hello brown bags! And to be honest, I don’t mind one bit. I tend to get pretty creative with my lunches when I’m workin a 9 to 5, cuz there’s nothin I like more than having a truly spectacular lunch to look forward to after a morning of hard work.

Of course a wholesome healthy lunchbox isn’t always easy to throw together at 6 in the morning while you’re still in a pre-coffee stupor, so in order to make your life (and my own) a little easier I am including some tips for how to get your Monday-Friday eats sorted out well in advance!

What my lunches will look like this week...

Food Prep Plan of Attack (July 4-8th): 

What my lunches look like today...

Step 1) Protein: Marinated Tofu (4 servings).

Place all ingredients in a ziploc bag and SHAKE!

  • 1 block of tofu, diced
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1 tbsp hummus
  • 2-3 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 small piece of fresh ginger, minced
Step 2) Veggies: Carrot & Kale Salad
Process each ingredient individually until fine but not totally pulverized. Place in a large ziploc freezer bag. SHAKE!
  • 1/2  a very large bunch of kale (or 1 normal sized bunch)
  • 4 large carrots
  • 1/4 red onion
  • 1 sweet apple

Step 3) Whole Grains: Quinoa

Cook 3/4 cup of dry quinoa according to package instructions. Store in a tupperware. 

Step 4) Starchy Veggie: Roasted Buttercup Squash

Dice 1 whole squash into pieces and place in a roasting pan along with 1/2 cup of water. Bake at 400 degrees for 1 hour or until soft and slightly browned.

Step 4) Fruit: Banana (optional)

Slice 3 bananas into large chunks and freeze. Great for morning smoothies!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I love your food prep plan of attack!! I need to start doing that. Luckily, I have about a 30 second commute from work to home so I can throw things together even if I don’t have much prepped beforehand…haha.

    What’s the new job, if you’re cool with sharing?

    Reply
    • I swear it is only by absolute necessity that I’ve learned to be so organized. I’m teaching summer school for inner city youth and while it is absolutely the raddest job EVER, I don’t get a moment to myself all day. 20 minutes for lunch (if I’m lucky) isn’t even enough time for COFFEE let alone food!
      So I prep prep prep my food before I prep prep prep my lessons.

      Reply
  2. HealthyLiving

     /  July 5, 2011

    Looks great!

    Reply
  3. This post is SO helpful. I bring my lunch to school (and work in the summer) everyday because it’s hard to find delicious, healthy options. Plus I know that I will enjoy everything I eat if I make it myself. Anyway, I often struggle with what to bring since I make all 3 of my meals + snacks everyday. It’s easy to get bored! Thanks so much for the ideas. I really hope you will continue to do posts like this because I would definitely be interested in seeing what you prep. (I love how you break it down by category by the way!) I’m already planning on using some of your ideas for this week’s lunches.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

