Beach Picnic & A Very Green Soba Noodle Salad

After such a busy week I decided to take my Saturday completely off…Off work, off errands…off of all things city. So I grabbed some friends, packed a picnic lunch & headed to relax on the beachfront of the Toronto Island.

I always relish the opportunity to travel by boat, even if it is just a short ride, and the Toronto Island ferry ride is just perfect. Wind in hair, cute families chatting with you along the way + the knowledge that in just a few short minutes you will have your toes in the sand. Dreamy.

And of course no beach day would be complete without a perfectly packed lunch. I opted for something filling, nutritious & loaded with energizing fruits and veggies. I chose Japanese soba noodles because I love the earthy taste and texture of buckwheat (my current obsession, discussed at length here) contrasted against the bright sweetness of the other flavours in this recipe.

The result was fresh, delicious and lasted very well in my bag even without a cooler because all the veggies I used were hearty enough to marinate rather than wilt with the addition of dressing, making the salad that much more flavourful after the journey on the ferry.

Kiwi & Kale Soba Noodle Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 bunch kale leaves
  • 1 lime
  • 2 tsp honey or agave
  • 1 tsp sesame oil (can sub for another oil if you don’t have it)
  • 2 bunches of soba noodles
  • 2 kiwis
  • 1-2 yellow peppers
  • green onions
  • 1 cup cooked shelled edamame (tofu cubes would work well here too if they were marinated in a little soy sauce/rice vinegar combo)
  • 1 tbsp seasoned rice vinegar
  • tamari or soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup crushed salted peanuts (optional)**
**I omitted these in the main recipe due to a friend’s allergy  – but when I used them for my leftovers later on I found the additional salty crunch was a perfect finishing touch!  
Directions:
  1. Cook 2 bunches of soba noodles for 3-4 minutes or until just tender.
  2. Tear kale leaves from their stems and place small pieces into a bowl. Massage leaves with the juice of half your lime, oil & honey/agave for 3-4 minutes or until wilted.
  3. Add in cooked soba noodles (i chopped mine up a bit first so they would be in bite sized pieces), edamame or tofu, thinly sliced yellow pepper & thinly cut slices of kiwi. Stir well to combine.
  4. Add in the remainder of the lime juice, rice vinegar plus a few dashes of tamari/soy sauce. Allow to sit about 20-30 minutes in the fridge. Top with peanuts & green onions then serve!
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. actorsdiet

     /  July 24, 2011

    kiwi + kale i am lovin it!

    Reply
  2. Yumtastic! I am totally going to make this later this week! Thanks for posting an awesome recipe!

    Reply
  3. That combo sounds awesome!
    ahhh nothing beats a beach picnic!… although its the worst when sand blows in ya sammich/ salad. chomping down on grit is a bummer.

    Reply
    • I couldn’t agree more! I had to create a miniature blanket fort to protect my meal from the elements. Hard work but well worth it for a tasty al fresco lunch! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

