Sneaky Vegan Pesto Mayonnaise

Today’s recipe is a sneaky one. It looks and tastes eerily like the real live mayo but sneaks a whole buncha whackadoodle ingredients into the mix to make it suitable for loads of special dietary needs.

I love this kind of recipe because as far as I’m concerned its universal design (teacher-speak for good planning). Food that doesn’t discriminate, doesn’t make anyone sweat or freak out. It just tastes good and pleases everyone from your eco-feminist chakra-sensing aunt to your perma-scowling meat n’ potatoes grandad.

Personally, I love to use this as a sandwich or burger spread as well as a dip for crackers, pita or veggies. Its packed with protein, low in most things bad, high in most things good and most importantly tastes delish.

Vegan Pesto Mayonnaise

Dairy-Free/Egg-Free/High-Protein

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup fresh basil
  • 1/4 package silken tofu
  • 1/2 cup cooked white beans
  • 1 tsp almond butter
  • 1 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 tbsp almond milk
  • 2 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp white vinegar
  • 1 tsp salt (I used herbamare)
  • freshly ground pepper
Directions: Blend or process ingredients until smooth. Keeps in the fridge for around 5 days. Note – if you use a blender the final product will appear smoother, without the flecks of green pictured above. Its a matter of personal preference or (in my case) which appliance happened to be clean and sitting on the counter.
Yields about 8 servings.
And for those of you who give a hoot I am also including the nutritional breakdown of this recipe after the jump. This isn’t standard practice for me but I can’t resist since this one is SO incredibly awesome!
How do you feel about vegan, gluten-free, dairy-free, etc. recipes that attempt to recreate  the “real thing”. Love it or leave it?
I clocked this at around 8 servings, give or take. Not including the nutritional yeast which would add B12 and protein this spread looks a little something  like…
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. This looks like such an awesome spread – real mayo skeeves me out so I’m always looking for yummy alternatives!

    Reply
  2. Molly

     /  July 25, 2011

    Yay this looks awesome! I assume you can use regular milk instead of almond milk… what is the function of the almond butter, though? Can I substitute it with anything if I don’t have that on hand?

    Reply
    • Any milk would work just fine! And the almond butter just adds a hint of the toasty nut flavour typically found in pesto. It can certainly be omitted, just adjust the seasonings at the end to taste. Hope it works for ya!

      Reply
  3. Yoooo that is like my DREAM spread. I have been searching fruitlessly for the perfect pesto/dairy-free mayo combination and I think this is probably it!!

    ps. Loved your photos from the islands – that’s probably the thing I miss the most about summer in Toronto. It’s so peaceful out there eh? And less humid too, I think.

    Reply
  4. This looks super yum!! I’ll have to give it a whirl.

    Neat blog PS:
    shortpresents.blogspot.com

    Reply
  5. My eco-feminist chakra-sensing aunt thanks you kindly for this recipe 🙂

    Reply
  6. Barbara

     /  July 30, 2011

    I have a question for the Healthy Hipster! What foods should I cut out of my diet to make my skin clear up? Someone told me that it’s all about cutting down on sugars and dairy.

    Reply
    • While I am definitely not an EXPERT on this, I can share 2 pieces of advice that I tell my high school nutrition students whenever they ask about this issue.

      1) Cutting out processed and refined sugars can help balance out your blood sugar, which is a good thing because spikes in your blood sugar have been known to contribute to acne. But cutting out unprocessed sugars like honey and fruit is unnecessary. Just make an effort to combine these foods with a protein or healthy fat to keep digestion slow and your blood sugar in check.
      2) This one isnt about what to cut out, but rather what to add. FAT. The healthy kind. And a good amount of it. You can find healthy fats in olive oil, avocado, salmon, almonds, flax oil, etc. All of these foods are filling, delicious and a moderate amount of them in your diet will do WONDERS for your skin.

      (And if you are dealing with breakouts right now that need immediate attention…i always found teatree oil to be the best blemish busting natural product.)

      Hope that helped! Good luck! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

