Work Out, Eat Up: How I Fuel My Active Lifestyle

Hey folks,

So I mentioned recently that after years of hesitation I finally upped and joined a gym. In the past my biggest problems with the gym have been equal parts too expensive, too focused on physical appearance (rather than overall health), too competitive and just plain boringTo mitigate most of these issues I joined my local YMCA and so far I have found it to has exceeded my expectations on all fronts. It certainly reflects my own values by promoting an affordable, supportive and holistic space for physical activity. Love the Y!

As far as my workouts go I have been sticking closely to my trifecta workout plan of HIIT-style cardio (short bursts of high intensity running/elliptical/cycling followed by quick cooldowns, repeated) for heart health and overall fitness, weight training for strength & yoga for flexibility. My workout schedule this week has looked a little like this:

  • Monday: Weights/HIIT Cardio (50 min)
  • Tuesday: Power Yoga, Weights/Light Cardio in the PM (1 hr AM/50 min PM)
  • Wednesday: Off.
  • Thursday: Weights/HIIT Cardio (60 min)
  • Friday: Cardio LIFE (aka. walking around the city doing errands + heavy duty household chores like cleaning and moving boxes)
  • Saturday: Power Yoga
  • Sunday: Off.
This schedule was somewhat typical for me (minus Tuesday which was a little cray cray. I have my good friend Ryan to thank for convincing me to hit the gym a second time…ouch!)
Obviously all that activity requires a whole lotta fuel which for me is looking like:
Whole Grains:
Oatmeal
Sprouted grain or whole wheat bread
Brown rice tortillas (I’m obsessed)
Cooked grains like rice, barley, amaranth, polenta, whole wheat cous cous
oats for breakfast. no brainer. 
Protein:
eggs and egg whites
fish (tuna and tuna steak, wild pacific salmon, swordfish steak, sardines – yeah i said it I love sardines)
tofu and tempeh
protein powder – usually raw vegan brown rice protein like sun warrior or garden of life
local and organic chicken breast, when available
Fat:
Flax oil (I usually use it for salad dressing)
Avocado
Nuts and seeds
Almond butter
Sauteed kale, onion and radish topped with avocado and a poached egg
Veggies
Green: Kale, Broccoli, Chard, Bok Choy, Spinach, Zucchini, Cucumber, Celery, Parsley
White: Cauliflower, Onion, Garlic, Radish
Orange: Sweet Potato, Squash, Carrot
Red: Tomato, Chilis
Yellow: Bell Peppers (my FAVE kind)
On-the-go whole grain sesame bagel sandwich with Tomatoes, Lettuce & Cucumber – Tofutti Cream Cheese filled in nicely for the Swiss. Uhmmmyeah. 
Fruit
Staples: Apples, Bananas & Frozen Berries
Seasonal: Peaches, Pears, Yellow Plums, Cherries & Fresh Berries
Seared tuna steak on sauteed kale with whole wheat morroccan style cous cous
1/2 roasted squash, kale, broccoli, sauteed mushrooms and a pan seared organic chicken breast
Feeling inspired (or just hungry)? What are some of the changes you make in the kitchen to fuel your workouts or just keep your energy levels high when you need it most? 
Wanna see any of these recipes on the blog? Lemme know!
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I thought I was reading my favorite foods and likes when reading this post….seriously, why did I just find your blog? Not cool, not cool 🙂 Despite, we have very similar tastes in food as I can see and your pictures are super drool- worthy. I especially love the oatmeal one 🙂

    Reply
  2. Ali

     /  August 26, 2011

    I would love to see all of these recipes!

    Reply
  3. megan

     /  August 29, 2011

    one of those looks familiar…. ;p
    Is all the iron rich kale because you are pumping iron? What? Workout pun? YES!

    Reply
  4. Casey

     /  August 29, 2011

    Those are all awesome options! I eat tons of whole grains when I want energy.

    Reply
  5. Erin

     /  November 30, 2011

    Can you post the recipe for the seared tuna stake with couscous recipe? Please and thanks!

    Reply
  6. Cardio LIFE- haha! That’s funny but true especially carrying groceries if you don’t have a car 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

