Northern Getaway

As a Canadian who has spent time abroad I often have to convince my foreign friends that I don’t, in fact, live in an igloo. That I use a subway car to get around, not a canoe. That the view outside my window is far more concrete-grey than it is evergreen.

But this past weekend all of that fell to the wayside as I headed North, to a place where just about every Canadian stereotype becomes a reality.

Secluded cabin in the woods? Check.

Eat your heart out, Tom Thomson. 

Cottage meals were simple and hearty, including a cup of homemade parsley soup  – a first for me, but something I can’t wait to try and recreate – and a dinner of roasted vegetables, sweet corn, green beans, baked potatoes and grilled chicken.
Okay fine let’s call this what it was: a summer feast. Especially paired with a half glass of raspberry wheat beer from the local Amsterdam Brewery.
And for dessert…an ICE COLD SWIM!
SPLASH!
While most of our time was spent lazing on the dock, hiking, reading and playing board games, Poppa Hipster and I decided to do some road tripping in the Muskoka region as well, making a few delicious stops along the way.
First one was at a the Lake of Bays Brewing Company a small microbrewery where we sampled some delicious pale ale. I highly recommend you look for it at your local LCBO and pester them to start carrying it if they don’t already. Local entrepeneurship is the jam, people. Especially when it tastes this good. 😉

Next was a cafe we read about called The Deli Lama (located in Bracebridge at the back of the Muskoka Natural Food Market).

I mean who doesn’t like to chase their beer with a wholesome vegetarian lunch? 😉

A whole plate of delicious.

All in all I was pretty pleased with my visit to Northern Canadian cottage country. And while I was pretty vehemently anti-cottage when I was a kid (purely becuase I didn’t have one and was totally jealous) I must admit I was pretty smitten.

Did you have a cottage growing up? Have you visited one as an adult? What are your favourite ways to unwind, wilderness style?  


Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I am so jealous of where you are staying, it looks beautiful! Have fun girly! 🙂

    Whitney

    Reply
  2. Elizabeth

     /  September 1, 2011

    I feel like that ‘foreigners thinking yours is a land of igloos’ comment is directed at me. Also, wolf shirt. You are wonderful.

    Reply
    • Elizabeth

       /  September 1, 2011

      Maybe it’s a husky. I can’t be sure.

      Reply
    • Bahaha it was only 10% headed in your direction… I mean you did invent the term frozen tundra 😉

      And it is certainly a wolf. I figured it was only appropriate for my wild surroundings.

      Reply
  3. wow, that cabin is just gorgeous! your little getaway looks incredible, very jealous. beers and vego lunches? my idea of a good time – I have the same shirt as you 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

