Easy Transitions: Summer >> Fall

I once had a therapist tell me I have “trouble with transitions.”

My first reaction to this professional insight was to feel terribly offended. I mean I revel in change and I hate for my life to feel dreary and predictable. But as I thought about it further, I realized that while I appreciate change I despise the process of getting there.

I just want things to be different, already.

This weekend Toronto experienced near perfect weather and the whole city seemed to respond with the same combination of excitement and discomfort. Excitement because sunshine = lazy saturday afternoons in the park. Discomfort because our autumn jackets and sweaters (while terribly fashionable) were also boiling us alive under the unseasonably hot sun. Not quite summer, not quite fall weather apparently makes for a city of sweaty grumps.

Nevertheless, I’m on a mission to appreciate transitional periods for exactly what they are. Awkward and elusive, but also exuberant and unexpected.

I snapped a shot of this building as I wandering somewhere along Dundonald near Toronto’s Church and Wellesley neighborhood. The perfect blend of neon green ivy, early autumn leaves and bright end-of-summer blooms. 

Summer >> Fall

First cup of coffee on a Saturday morning. A strong Americano at Ideal Coffee on Ossington.

 Sleep >> Wake.

And of course…a Summer >> Fall Recipe! This snack mix combines fresh shelled edamame with a comforting autumn staple – toasted pumpkin seeds. The result is a high protein, satisfying snack that is as unexpected as this unseasonably warm September afternoon. Enjoy!

Roasted Edamame & Pumpkin Seed Snack Mix

  • 1 cup frozen shelled edamame (thawed but not boiled)
  • 1 cup raw, unshelled pumpkin or squash seeds (I used the seeds of a buttercup squash)
  • 2 tbsp tamari or soy sauce
  • 1/2 tbsp sesame oil
  • around 1 tbsp finely grated fresh ginger**
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
**I always store my ginger in the freezer and use it as needed. Not only does this extend the shelf life of your ginger, but it makes grating far easier. 

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Combine tamari and oil in the bottom of a large mixing bowl.
  3. Add in soybeans and pumpkin seeds and toss to combine.
  4. Grate in ginger and add a sprinkle of garlic powder, toss once more.
  5. Spread out soynuts and seeds on a piece of parchment paper and roast at 350 degrees for about 30-40 minutes or until they are fragrant and crispy. (The edamame will not become as crunchy the seeds but they should dry out significantly)
Try not to eat them all straight off the pan. 
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Those roasted edamame and pumpkin seeds look delicious. I’m a big fan of pumpkin seeds, but never thought to include edamame. Excuse me while I dash to my oven…

    Reply
  2. My Mum taught me the ginger-in-the-freezer trick, it’s a good one! Yum and so going to try the roasted edamame once I have a working oven (grrrrr). Awesome idea!

    Reply
  3. I totally and completely relate to your difficulty with transitions. I’m in my last year of college and I think college as a whole is a transitional period, and there’s this feeling of being unrooted and always wondering, “where am I going next? where am I going to live?” I spent most of last year abroad, traveling through Europe, Asia, and Africa and while I think that partly contributed to my lack of rootedness, I also think I have trouble living in the present. I think part of going through transitions is realizing that the transition is a life experience too, not JUST a means to an end. anyway, I’m not sure I’ve commented before – but I love reading your blog! and what a great snack recipe!

    Reply
    • Seems to me we’re very alike. I also spent years living abroad and while I’m completely happy where I am right now and don’t want to move again, I still get pangs of wanderlust. I’m so glad you commented this time! It always feels good to talk to someone else who just…gets it. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

