Comfort Food: Wild Salmon & Brown Rice Casserole

Its a chilly morning here on the island so a bowl of piping hot oats for breakfast seemed like a no brainer.

20111109-081910.jpg
1/2 cup rolled oats with almond milk, chopped banana and egg whites cooked in at the end. Topped with a scoop of peanut butter, jam, a small handful of frozen raspberries, toasted almonds and a buncha cinnamon.

That is pure breakfast comfort food right there.

Now when I think of suppertime comfort food I usually think of the cheap, filling, one pot meals my grandma made for us growing up.

My favourite of these meals: Tuna Helper. Don’t ask me why but I was crazy for the stuff…like…for years. Tonight as I looked through my grandmother’s cupboards – full to the brim with all of the pre-packaged food items I grew up loving, I got it in my head that I could make better tasting and better for you version using the whole foods we had in the house.

I swapped the tuna for omega-3 packed wild salmon, the noodles for brown rice and the laundry list of preservatives and sodium for spices and sea salt. Feelin pretty pleased with myself indeed.



Ingredients

  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 stalk celery, diced
  • 2-3 cloves crushed garlic
  • 1/2 red pepper, diced
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms, chopped roughly
  • 3/4 cup dry brown and wild rice blend
  • 2 cups chicken or veggie broth (if using water, you’ll need to add boullion)
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp rosemary
  • 1.5 cups chopped asparagus or broccoli
  • 1 can of wild salmon (I used one large can, maybe add 2 if using small ones)
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
  • Salt and pepper

20111108-195626.jpgDirections

  1. Heat a medium-large sized pot over medium heat
  2. Add a drizzle of olive oil along with onion and celery and sautee for 1-2 minutes or until fragrant.
  3. Add the peppers and mushrooms and cook for another few minutes until softened.
  4. Add all seasonings, liquid and rice. Bring to a boil then reduce heat to very low.
  5. Cover and simmer for approximately 30 minutes or until rice is cooked through.
  6. If there is some liquid left in the pot, simply raise the heat again and add in chopped asparagus or broccoli. Cover and allow greens to steam in the rice liquid for 2-3 minutes. If rice has absorbed all the cooking liquid, just add an extra 1/2-3/4 cup water/broth/milk and then do the same.
  7. Stir in canned salmon and dijon and stir until heated. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  8. Serve with a side of steamed veggies or salad and eat tucked under some kind of large fluffy blanket…preferably with something trashy on TV.

    What’s your favourite grandma style comfort food?

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Oh wow – wild salmon is just the best.

    Reply
  2. Ali

     /  November 9, 2011

    This looks amazing..on my list of recipes to make! I am just wondering how many portions this makes..

    Reply
  3. Pasta e fagioli with cubed potatoes is my favourite Nonna style food. So cheap and hot and delicious πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. I love brown rice and I love everything you put into this dish! I probably eat peppers and mushrooms way too much, haha, and one of my fave kinds of fried rice at one of my fave Chinese restaurants has salmon in it, so I would most definitely devour this meal. And coconut milk, mmm.

    Reply
  5. Maddi

     /  January 21, 2013

    Could you use fresh salmon in place of the canned salmon? I just bought a big piece of fresh salmon that’s why I’m wondering!

    Reply
    • Definitely! It would probably taste even better. You may just need to prepare it in advance. It would also be a great way to use up leftovers of fresh salmon the next day. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

