Lunch Trio with Creamy Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup

Earlier this week I was visiting a friend, a busy mom with two young and ridiculously adorable children, and she was kind enough to offer me a bowl of the creamy roasted red pepper and tomato soup she was preparing for lunch.  As I ate my first spoonful of that rich and comforting bowl I was reminded of 2 things:

1) I used to eat these prepackaged soups all the time and I still freaking love them. Apparently even my healthy-food savvy taste buds aren’t immune to that familiar combination of sugar, salt and modified milk products. Mmm…mmm…good.

2) While there may have been a time in my life when a bowl of tomato soup would have been a perfectly lovely lunch, that is definitely not the case for me anymore. (See this post for more info on how I eat to fuel my active lifestyle) This fact became all too apparent to me when I got hungry for dinner at abut 2:15 that afternoon…

With both of those things in mind I decided that I must a) recreate this soup immediately and b) ensure that I enjoy it as a delicious addition to my typical lunch fare. Thus I got home and began cooking up this delicious dairy-free version. And it quickly turned my standard wrap/salad combo into a hearty, restaurant-style lunch trio.

Sauteed veggie and tuna wrap in a toasted brown rice tortilla, mixed green salad with carrots, apples, pumpkin seeds and flax oil/balsamic dressing and (of course)…

Creamy Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup (Dairy-Free)

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped roughly
  • 3-4 cloves garlic
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped roughly
  • 1 can of whole tomatoes
  • 3 cups low-sodium vegetable broth
  • 3 roasted red peppers, seeded and chopped (See instructions below)
  • 1/2 package silken tofu  
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast (optional, could sub Parmesan cheese for a dairy option)
  • pepper to taste
Roasted Bell Peppers: Easy as 1-2-3
  1. Place whole bell peppers on a foil-lined baking sheet and broil in the oven until the skins have blackened (peppers may start to look “deflated”). It usually takes around 15-20 minutes and typically I flip them about half way through. 
  2. Once the peppers are blackened place them in a bowl covered with plastic wrap. As they cool this will create a vaccuum seal that will make the skins very easy to peel off.  
  3. Use your fingers to tear the skins away from the flesh of the peppers and remove the tops and seeds. Voila!

Directions: 

  1. In a large pot, sautee onions, garlic and celery over medium heat until soft and fragrant.
  2. Add tomatoes, broth and peppers and bring to a boil.
  3. Reduce heat and allow to simmer for around 15 minutes.
  4. Using a regular or infusion blender, puree mixture until smooth.
  5. Add silken tofu, nutritional yeast and a little pepper. Puree until tofu is completely combined (not grainy).
  6. Taste and adjust seasonings, adding more salt and pepper if desired.

Garnish with parsley, fresh pepper slices and a drizzle of your favourite milk. 

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Looks a whole lot more exciting than my lunch!

    Reply
    • Sometimes you gotta treat yourself to an exciting lunch…other days look a little bit more like: Stand in front of fridge. Eat contents. It all depends… 😉

      Reply
  2. That looks like an absolutely wonderful lunch! It seems a lot more exciting than my lunch too 😛

    Reply
  3. This looks really good! I have added it to next week’s menu. Thank you and keep up the great recipes.

    Reply
  4. Elise

     /  December 20, 2011

    Which brand of brown rice tortillas do you use? I buy the ones from Trader Joe’s and I’ve been having trouble rolling them up nicely, they tend to crack and fall apart often. Any suggestions? This looks delish by the way 🙂

    Reply
    • Ah yes a tricky question… Usually I buy food for life brown rice tortillas, store in the freezer then pop them in the microwave for about 30 seconds. I fill them up right away when they are still hot and warm then pop them onto a pan for grilling. As a final trick i almost always extra wrap my wraps in foil so that they hold together while I eat them and make sure not to lose that last (most delicious) bite!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

