Dark Chocolate, Fig & Raisin Cookies

I swear I am doing things other than baking right now. Ahem…I’m also wrapping presents. This cookie recipe is a little less wholesome than my last but still delicious and made of whole food ingredients. Initially I intended them to be vegan but I found the batter just wasn’t holding together like I liked so I added an egg. I’m sure more experienced vegan bakers than I could have worked some magic with a little extra flax but I took the easy way out. Ultimately though I was very satisfied with this hearty and decadent oatmeal cookie. Perfect for serving alongside a pot of tea or maybe even leaving out with a tall glass of almond milk for the big man himself on Christmas Eve…Enjoy!
Dark Chocolate, Fig & Raisin Oatmeal Cookies
Ingredients
  • 1/3 cup non-dairy milk
  • 2 tablespoons ground flax
  • 2/3 cup turbinado sugar
  • 1/3 cup oil (coconut, sunflower, etc.)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour (or sub for GF flour if you wish)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups quick-cooking oats
  • 1/4 cup coursely ground nuts (I used almonds since I have an abundance, but walnuts would be yummy too)
  • 1/3 cup raisins**
  • 1/3 cup chopped figs**
  • 1/3 cup dark chocolate chunks (I coursely chopped about 1/3 of a large chocolate bar)
**Before using soak the dried fruit in a little boiling water for a few minutes to soften. Rinse in cold water before blending into the cookie mixture otherwise they will cause your chocolate to melt.
Directions
  1. In a large bowl use a fork to mix together the non-dairy milk and flax seeds. Add in the sugar, egg and oil and mix for about 2 minutes. Mix in vanilla extract.
  2. Sift in flour, spices, baking soda and salt. Fold in nuts, oatmeal, raisins, figs & chocolate chunks.
  3. Drop dough in generous tbs onto a paper-lined baking sheet, about 2 inches apart. Flatten the tops with the back of a plastic wrap lined glass (or a fork if you want a more rustic looking cookie).
  4. Bake for about 15 minutes or until golden brown in a preheated oven at 350°F.
  5. Let cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Mmm figs. Lovin’ these healthy Christmas cookie recipes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

