Saturday Brunch vs. Saturday Blahs.

I get intimidated by Saturdays. This is probably because I usually spend most of the morning obsessing over which item on my never-ending to-do list I should tackle. Laundry? Cleaning? Seeing some random I acquaintance I have nothing in common with for coffee? Making a 5 year plan? Teaching myself how to play squash? Etc. And then the afternoon often fills up with various methods of procrastination followed by a feeling disappointment for squandering the sense of limitless possibility I had when I woke up in the morning.

This is why I am thankful for brunch.

Brunch does a lovely  job of breaking up my Saturday Blahs by structuring my day and dividing it into two much more manageable halves. Suddenly the things you accomplish in the morning hours feel like a total bonus because they’ve happened before your day has really gotten started. For me, who works extremely early on Saturday mornings, this especially satisfying. Then, by the time you would feel your your mid-afternoon slump setting in, BRUNCH has come along and filled you with delicious food and a  bottomless-coffee-induced sense of ambition!

Despite my appreciation for the midday weekend meal, I am no brunch stickler. I don’t have a “regular spot” or a “standard order.” I like this approach since it encourages me to try new things and eat a greater diversity of food!

Exhibit A)

Vegan brunch at Fresh that included hummus and cornbread, salad & black bean chili and a side of tempeh bacon. Notice how everything is on the side? Ahem…

Exhibit B)

Spinach and Egg White Omelette, Multigrain Toast, Fruit & Greens at a pretty standard breakfast chain. I may have doused this whole meal in hot sauce. I hold Texas accountable

Exhibit C)

Coffee. In all its forms. Sometimes fancy as heck and filled to the brim with organic, lightly sweetened almond milk. However I will also accept any brown sludge you put in front of me

So what do you think? Do you love the way brunch dates break up your days and centre them around food and socializing? Or do you find this distracts from all the other items on life’s neverending to-do list?

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. For some reason I always manage to wake up before 7:30 on Saturdays so I never really have brunch 😦 My family usually wakes up at like 10 and they have brunch together while I just join them and have coffee. I guess it’s spending time with the fam that counts ^^

    Reply
    • Oh I hear that! Fortunately when my friends go for brunch it’s typically around 1130 and when you factor in Toronto lineups that means you don’t end up eating till lunchtime (or later!) So yes I almost always eat beforehand and usually refer to brunch as Second Breakfast 😉

      Reply
      • True 😛 The time I ended up going to Cora’s with friends we didn’t get in until 1. So technically it was eating breakfast food for lunch.

Leave a Reply

