Get to Know a Healthy Hipster: Shawna

Today I’ll be starting a new profile series here on the blog. In it, you’ll have the opportunity to meet Healthy Hipsters from different cities and all walks of life. I’m really excited to get rolling but first a brief word of explanation…

I started The Healthy Hipster because I felt really happy and positive about the changes I’d made in my life but I also felt a little…alone. I still considered myself to be an artist, an activist, an academic and even a bit of a scene queen, but I no longer identified with the lifestyle of the Pabst-swilling trustafarians rolling their eyes through indie rockshows and ironic bingo games every night of the week. That said, I certainly didn’t feel at home with the manicured/pedicured yoga moms at my Sunday morning bikram class either. So I branched out. I started writing. And what I found was a community of inspiring, supportive, likeminded people who couldn’t wait to share their lives with me! Sometimes I found that these people were right in front of me all along…

So while you get a chance to see the elements that comprise my definition of a healthy lifestyle every day, I thought it was about time I put the folks who inspire me in the spotlight too.

And who better to start with than a gal who has literally inspired me since the day I was born? That’s right, the gorgeous woman you’re about to meet also happens to be my big sister.

Name: Shawna
Occupation: PhD Student
Location: Portland, Oregon

How would you describe your style of eating?
Vegan
What are some of the must haves in your fridge/pantry?
Oatmeal, almond milk, almond butter, apples, chia seeds, avocados, bananas, quinoa, beans, tofu, hummus, tahini, Ezekiel bread, Mary’s crackers, kale, garlic, lemons, limes, buckwheat soba noodles, apple cider vinegar, bragg’s, sriracha.
Best local bar/venue/party to go to on a night off?
Central, Holocene, The Sweet Hereafter

Ratatat @ Holocene in Portland, OR

Favourite ways to get active?

  • Core Power Yoga
  • Eliptical Machine
  • Lifting Weights
  • Going for Walks
Who were you in high school? (Cool kid? Art freak? Raver? D & D Master?)
A bit like the Breakfast Club all mixed together…Priss + Freak+ Nerd (Minus the Jock)
Best place to caffeinate/hydrate?
Barista
Greatest hero of fiction?
Hamlet (**Did I mention my sister’s doing a PhD in English Lit? šŸ˜‰ )
Style Icons:
Kate Lanphear, Isabella Blow, Little Edie, Louise Brooks

Little Edie’s derelict debutante style in Grey Gardens

source: Who What Wear

You’re on death row, what’s your last supper?
Coconut Bliss Malted Milkshake, Flourless Chocolate Cake, Raspberry Cheesecake and a Pumpkin Pie.
Most played song on your ipod?
Kate Bush – Hounds of Love
Are you a Healthy Hipster? Or do you know someone who is?
Send your story to healthyhipster@gmail.com and I might just feature you in a future post!
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. I’m loving this new series of blog posts already!

    Reply
  2. There are too many colours on that fashion spread for it to be my style! hehe
    But this, yes http://anxietyny.tripod.com/ediebeale.jpg

    Reply
    • I dunno girl, I seem to recall a pair of neon green star-patterned leggings from your 8 year old self’s closet that beg to differ. šŸ˜‰

      Reply
      • Yes you are so right! Black milk has nothing on those!!! Thanks for the profile šŸ™‚

  3. Ooo I really loved this! So great getting to know you more! What are you doing your PhD in ? Like you, I am also a HUGE fan of Kate Lanphear. And flourless chocolate cake.

    Reply
  4. Jen

     /  January 27, 2012

    Great post!

    Reply
  5. Anne

     /  January 27, 2012

    I’m doing a phD in french litterature, I’m yoggi, a runner and a “flexitarian”, not so much a hipster but it’s cool to come across a blog that is more “like me”. I’ll be back.

    Reply
    • So glad you stumbled across the blog! And to be fair I think there are few people out there masochistic enough to self identify as hipsters…ahem…So you’re with the majority of readers there šŸ™‚

      Reply
  1. Friday Round-Up: A Week of Highs & Lows « The Healthy Hipster
  2. Get to Know a Healthy Hipster: Ryan « The Healthy Hipster

Leave a Reply

