Top 6 Winter Workout Tips: VLOG!

Hey folks,

The weather here in Toronto has been pretty bleak lately and yesterday was especially brutal. It was grey, windy and cold and I had NO motivation to leave the house, let alone squeeze in physical activity. But I made it happen using a few strategies I developed to keep myself motivated. Since I know I’m not alone in this predicament I thought it was time that I share my Top 6 ways to Beat the Winter Workout Slump.

Sorry the video is a bit dark but at least it gives you a good sense of what it is I’m talking about 😉

OH! And one more thing REALLY IMPORTANT THING I forgot to mention in this video…

When and if these tips don’t get your butt in gear:  Please, please with a cherry on top avoid  punishing yourself! Not mentally by feeling guilty or being overly critical of yourself/your body/your “will power”/etc. And DEFINITELY not physically by restricting yummy food or treats. This is irrational and unnecessary plus it will deplete you and make it that much harder to get going the next day.

Instead, enjoy your rest and engage in some form of self care. A nice long bath, a tea date with a friend, an hour with a good book, etc. This will help you recharge for a fresh new start tomorrow!

So…do you think these tips would work for you?
What do you do to stay active and keep on track with your fitness goals even in the yucky, dark, chilly winter months?

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Super awesome tips!! I really need all the help I can in motivating myself right now.

    I like that you mentioned a “walk to the gym routine” because I feel like getting oneself pumped up on the way there makes the whole experience more positive! [I also like that you mentioned that because so many bloggers I read seem to drive to the gym all the time…so it’s nice to hear from another urban kid’s perspective!]

    Reply
  2. Bri

     /  February 2, 2012

    Woo! Great tips. Happy to hear someone else is searching for winter workout motivation tactics.

    Another piece of advice that I have to contribute for this time of year is to take the time to make gym dates or workout dates with friends! Sharing the struggle with someone else makes it WAY more fun. Plus, if you set a workout for the future – say, even a week in advance – it gets you pumped up to work out, and excited! It also makes sure that friends don’t let friends get woebegone from the winter blues. Awesome!

    Reply
    • YES! I totally LOVE a good gym date. Fun, fitness and the inevitable gossip sessions? Basically the best. But I really wish more of the folks could get as excited about the gym as they get about say…a bottle of jamesons and some pulled pork poutine. But that’s why I love them, right? 😉

      Reply
  3. Great tips! So important to be realistic without a lot of restricting rules and plans. BTW, super cute lipstick color ;).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

