Healthy Hipster Q&A + A Long Weekend Roundup

Good morning everyone! And those of you living in Ontario Happy Family Day! Is that the worst name for a civic holiday of all time? Possibly. But I have a long weekend in February so who’s complaining?

First up, some exciting news! The Healthy Hipster was featured by Toronto-based sassfactory & pilates instructor extraordinaire Brittany on her blog Fine Tune Pilates. So if you want to hear me rant about exercise trends, scrawny hipsters, the fine art of gym fashion & songs I can’t stop listening to….Read the interview here.

I haven’t spent much time at home over the long weekend so my eats have been extremely grab and go. Reheated steel cut oats, almond butter & jam sandwiches, crackers, baby carrots & fennel, heaps of hummus & about 3 bars of dark chocolate have been my main sources of sustenance. Since these don’t sound like pretty pictures to me, I figured I would dedicate today to a photo journal of the things I officially deemed more important than elaborate meals this weekend.

Stuff I bought:

Tickets for two shows I am crazy excited for in March.

This almond milk cortado @ Capitol Espresso in Parkdale.

New jewellery. I saw this in a little vintage store and immediately exclaimed “IS THAT AN EAR CUFF!? ” Clearly it is now MY ear cuff.

Stuff I did:

Stopped into one of my favourite bars up on Bloor St. West The Piston…Don’t let the all black paint job or the lack of sign fool ya, it’s a friendly little spot that also happens to host some great live music shows. Thursday was no exception as one of my absolute favourite Halifax import bands The Taste tore the place down with swoonworthy Harry Nilsson style pop jams.

The Piston. Source: BlogTO

I also popped into Nobody Writes to the Colonel to wish a happy birthday to my good pal Graham Wright. I’d never been to this spot before but it’s warm, cozy atmosphere put everyone in a particularly adorable mood I think.

[Cute, fuzzy red pics courtesy of Spencer MacEachern]

Friday was a big ol’ Motown dance party called The Big Sound, featuring a local Toronto indie bands singin nothin but the hits. It. Was. Amazing. Don’t believe me? Watch this.

And you guessed it, I’m off again to enjoy this last day of long weekend freedom! Although I must say I’m looking forward to posting some new recipes this week as domestic self is feeling rather abandoned at the  moment and the kitchen is calling my name!

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. jessi@slotheatz.com

     /  February 20, 2012

    Well I’m gonna stalk every vintage place until I find an ear cuff now. Love your taste in music too man those shows will be awesome! And that drank looks so yummaaay, I wish I could find a cafe that offered almond milk! I’d be all over it. Enjoy your day of domestic blissss =)

    Reply
    • Thanks! And I suggest you just keep bothering the baristas about it until they start ordering it in. Believe me, those dudes are scrawny enough that they’ll cave in as soon as you show a little bit of tough girl intimidation! 🙂

      Reply
  2. LOVE the song. And I need to start begging coffee places in the US to serve almond milk – haven’t seen it!

    Reply
    • Glad you liked it! I’ll definitely keep sharing music as I check out more shows this month. The snow has melted so I can finally start leaving the house again. Yay! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Love your interview- such great wisdom from a lovely healthy hipster! You have a wonderful outlook on life and such a nice sense of self. x

    Reply
  4. Great interview, and whoaa I didn’t know EMA was playing in Toronto! I might have to get myself a ticket.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

