Hello April!

Spring is really, truly here and I can’t help but get inspired by the pops of colour filling the streets. And no…I don’t mean the tulips on the ground or the premature magnolias blooming in the trees.

Now bikes on trees? There’s something really special…I am totally in love with the idea of this suspended makeshift bike rack.

Not to mention all things neon

And of course I love colour on my plate too. As many colours as I can fit into one bowl is really my ideal scenario…

Where else would I go but my beloved Hibiscus for the dreamiest bowl of rainbow coloured food heaven. (And in case you’re wondering…that’s sweet potato, broccoli, beets & tofu topped with kelp noodles. YU-UHMM!)

Unfortunately my own kitchen is very sparse right now as I am smack dab in the middle of moving week so I’ve been making due with a single pot and a boxed up pantry all week….

NO KITCHEN + INTERMITTENT INTERNET + EPIC PACKING = THE GROUCHY HIPSTER!

But as usual I’m making due amongst the chaos…Tonight’s dinner? Taco salad! Served in a stainless steel mixing bowl of course…


In the (mixing) bowl: 

  • Romaine
  • Sweet Orange Bell Pepper
  • Black Beans
  • “Baked” Sweet Potato (prepared in the microwave)
  • “Scrambled” Egg whites (also prepared in the microwave – 3 minutes or so at 70% power)
  • Chipotle Salsa & Greek Yogurt
Did the trick! 😉

What are your favourite no-cook meals? 

And how do you feel about moving? Do you love the change or hate the hassle?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. aspiringsteph

     /  April 2, 2012

    Favorite no-cook meals? I should say “fusion Bibimbap,” or “whatever-I-have-mix-it-up” bowls, often served in mixing bowls as well.
    Btw, I should definitely visit the Hibiscus cafe when I go to Toronto (not definite yet, but maybe) in the summer. It looks like a lovely place!

    Reply
  2. Oh man I love the “suspended bike rack”! Have you seen this: http://newsomatic.blogspot.ca/2007/05/tree-eats-bicycle-from-neatorama-on.html

    Both your Hibiscus bowl and makeshift dinner look like super delicious spring meals. I hate moving but I’ve had to do it every four months for co-op. I cannot WAIT to settle down in an apartment for the long term! Good luck with your move!!

    Reply

Leave a comment