The Healthy Hipster Report Card

Well hello, lovelies! It’s been far too long but as I mentioned in my last post I have been keeping very busy lately getting acclimated at my new job and adjusting to the 9-2-5 lifestyle. Nevertheless I press on, doing my best to get past yet another period of transition, excited to find my rhythm once again.

Since I am going through transition (and its springtime to boot) I figured what better time to reflect a little on what exactly the “Healthy Hipster Lifestyle” really is? When I started the blog I think I focused largely on the mainstream understanding of health…food & fitness. But what kind of hipster would I be if I was satisfied with mainstream anything?

Now I find that when I need to check in with myself…give a little self-assessment…a report card if you will…that I divide up Healthy Hipsterdom into 5 Categories…

  1. Eats: Am I eating well? Enough? Mindfully? Am I enjoying the meals I eat? Am I eating a diversity of food?
  2. 20120514-085015.jpg
    My breakfast this morning: an egg white, avocado & dijon wrap in a brown rice tortilla with a side of spinach and berries.

  3. Activity: Am I moving my bod? Am I being consistent? Am I balancing structured workouts with sports, recreation and cardio LIFE?
  4. 20120514-083310.jpg

  5. Balance: Am I seeing friends? Enjoying a wide range of cultural and social activities? Have I become a crotchety hermit?
  6. 20120514-083742.jpg
    Me and my bestie at a magazine launch I hosted this past weekend.

  7. Thrift: Am I conscious of my financial priorities? Am I overspending on disposable items (take-out, cheap clothes, etc.)? Am I spending on the items that matter (health, home, savings)?
  8. 20120514-084133.jpg
    Ahem…Not in this lifetime. Looks like my salvaged wood furniture will actually have to come an actual barn not the pottery kind!

  9. Sanity: Am I taking time to myself? Am I dealing with my shit or just distracting myself (see items 1-4)?

20120514-084529.jpg
Taking time to reflect & notice the little things….e.g. hidden bike gardens!

Do these questions resonate with you too? How do you measure up on the Healthy Hipster Report Card?

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. shawnaelizabeth

     /  May 15, 2012

    I love this so much! I think it is really positive and inspiring. It is hard to find balance when things get really busy. It is nice to have a way of assessing if things have gotten off kilter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

