Love Muffins

It’s no secret that I’m a breakfast person. Almost compulsively so. I jump out of bed in the morning and usually have a piece of banana or a fistful of cereal in my mouth before my iphone alarm has finished its first strum.

But I realized a few days back though that while I’m always posting ideas for 5 minute breakfasts like my gluten-free egg and avocado wraps, tofu scrambles, green smoothies and oatmeal bowls, I virtually never mention my favourite grab and go morning meal: MUFFINS!

20120619-084502.jpg

Back in university I was all about the bagel and cream cheese breakfast but these days when I want to grab something on the run reach for a vegan, high fibre, whole grain muffin smeared with earth balance or almond butter. It’s basically cake-for-breakfast but in like a socially acceptable grown-up way.

So when I had the opportunity a few weeks back to taste a whole range of vegan baked goods prepared by Lesley Black, owner of the Love Muffin Bakery, I was more than a little excited.

20120619-084535.jpg

The Love Muffin Bakery delivers vegan and gluten free baked goods made with high quality, healthful ingredients right to your doorstep (free delivery in many areas within the downtown Toronto core). Vegan muffins are prepared using almond milk and applesauce to cut down on processed oils and lightly sweetened with agave.  

20120619-084450.jpg

Lesley is the cute-as-a-button baker putting the Love into Love Muffins.

I had the chance to try the gluten free apple cinnamon muffins, peanut butter squares, double chocolate oatmeal cookies and a banana chocolate chip muffin loaf.

The verdict?

20120619-084558.jpg

While I enjoyed all of the goodies, for me the vegan banana chocolate chip loaf was the superstar of the bunch. It was moist like banana bread and fluffy like a muffin, with an ingredient list so simple it made me wonder whether or not Lesley might dabble in the dark arts. If you’re craving something small and decadent, the double chocolate chip oatmeal cookies were also a delicious alternative to those highly processed, sugar-laden cake pops or two-bite brownies. The only treat that got mixed reviews was the gluten-free apple muffin which I asked a few of my wheat-sensitive pals to taste test for quality control. We all enjoyed the flavor but found the texture a little crumbly when compared to the perfection of the banana chocolate loaf. So I’d definitely suggest sticking with the standard muffins if you aren’t strictly gluten-free.

Thanks so much to Lesley for letting me try her stuff! If you live in the Toronto area I highly recommend you make an order and try out these treats for yourself. I’d love to hear what you think. Order online at The Love Muffin Bakery.Com

Are you a young chef/baker/fitness expert/artist/entrepreneur who’d like your business featured on The Healthy Hipster? Get in touch on twitter @healthy_hipster or by email at healthyhipster@gmail.com.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Gillian

     /  June 19, 2012

    Yum – this is such a wonderful idea! I would totally order this except for I have a love of baking which leads me to rarely buy baked goods.

    I have recently started experimenting with coconut flour! If you love a good muffin with fibre in the morning you might like these 🙂
    http://healthytastycheap.com/2012/05/29/coconut-flour-banana-chocolate-chunk-muffins/

    Love your weekend post and need to see that dress!

    Reply
    • Oh em gee Gillian these look amazing! I’m coconut flour crazy! Can’t wait to try these out as soon as I get my hands on a new container of coconut oil. I put that s#%* on everything! 😉

      Reply
  2. Ashley

     /  June 19, 2012

    My mouth is totally watering looking at all these vegan goodies! It also brings me joy to know that I am not alone in b-lining it to the kitchen first thing in the morning. Seriously, I wake up ravenous. Love your blog! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Yum yum yum…. always love a good taste test – it’s awesome to see more HEALTHY vegan baked goods out there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

