Sweat About It

With yesterday marking the official first day of summer it seems only appropriate that we’ve been hit by a real honest to goodness HEAT WAVE. And for all you Americans who don’t believe we get heat up here in the North country, how does 35 degrees outside but feels like 40 (aka. 95 but feels like 104?). Toronto ain’t playin around.

So obvs I can think of no better topic for today’s post than SWEAT itself. Or more specifically, how I’ve been workin up a sweat this week.

20120621-094039.jpg
Pras on the ‘Pod, Plenty of Hydration & Lots of Sunshine got me in my sneakers for some pre 8am sweatyness.

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a workout so I thought I’d share my new HIIT routine. It can be done in the gym using a treadmill, elliptical or bike but I am currently all about using it when I run outside. It starts off fairly easy but definitely builds in intensity as you go which is why I have dubbed it…

The Slow Starter HIIT Workout

It goes:

3 minutes moderate
1 minute fast
1 minute slow

Repeat x 5.

A few notes:

– During the moderate sets try to maintain a pace that allows you to breath comfortably and carry on a conversation if you really had to. Your heart is pumpin but you’ve still got your wits about you.

– During the fast sets you are working hard, your chest is pounding and the occasional profanity is probably the only language you could muster. You’re still not in an all-out sprint because you need to maintain it for a minute but you’re pushing yourself.

– During the slow sets you are relaxed and returning your breath to normal. This should not cause you any strain at all.

*If you’re looking for some suggested MPH on the treadmill I usually do around 6-6.5 moderate, 8-9 fast and 3.5-4 slow. When I track my pace outdoors using the Runkeeper App it’s virtually identical. I’m a shorty though so pay attention to your own bod and breathing to find the pacing that’s right for you.

What are your favourite ways to get sweaty in the summer months? I’m open to any and all creative suggestions! 😉

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Danielle

     /  June 21, 2012

    Great tips! I have been loving the workouts Christie has designed for the Breakfast Club at BeautyandtheBod.com It’s been a great way to start off the morning. I’ve just started trying some of the ZWOW light workouts! Also intense. I’d really like to try the Fitnessista’s interval workouts (30 secs hard – doing mountain climbers, jumping jacks, etc. – 1 min 30 secs light jog). Seems like a fun switch up from fast/slow running!

    Reply
  2. It has been way too hot in the GTA the last little bit. Kind of a pain when biking is your main mode of transportation (going up the Hamilton mountain was… fun… thank goodness I didn’t have to go there every day). Haha! I looked tomato red whenever I got to my destination. I think I’ve been blessed by having a swimming pool in my condo. So yeah… all my workouts are now water based. The Hiit workout can still work in the pool 😛

    Reply
  3. Gillian

     /  June 25, 2012

    Love your tips! And thank you for the slow starter HIT workout – I did it this weekend and got a serious sweat on! I also need to add Ghetto Superstar to my workout playlist now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

