Grown-Ups Eat Pumpkin Chili.

 

I’ve always said October was my favourite month.

First comes the leaves. Then Thanksgiving. And shortly thereafter, my birthday.

Yesterday. 

Image 

I turned 26 the way I would have pictured turning 26 when I was 16. I spent the day with collegues at work wearing brogues and a sweater vest and doing very serious important work which I care deeply about. And then I came home, tidied my one bedroom downtown apartment, put on a fresh pair of stockings and headed out to spend the evening among friends.

It was beautiful. And silly. And a little debaucherous.

Image

Image

Image

Image

But all in all it was all I could ask for. Which is saying a lot, because now that I’m 26 (a grown up) I have pretty high expectations. 

I’m using all of this as a preface before the real highlight of my day (the first of my 26th year), a pumpkin spiced chili recipe I whipped up off the cuff that turned out to be an absolute gem. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. 

Pumpkin Spiced Chili

Image

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 large carrot, diced
  • 1 stalk celery, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp coconut flour (optional, but helps for thickening)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 heaping tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3-4 whole cloves
  • 1 cup pumpkin, mashed (I used a freshly roasted pie pumpkin but I’m sure canned would work just fine)
  • 1 cup of crushed tomatoes
  • 1 large or 2 small cans of black beans, with liquid
  • 1-2 tbsp honey or agave
  • a few dashes of hot sauce (cholula = ❤ )

Directions

  1. Warm coconut oil in a large pot over medium heat.
  2. Sautee onions, garlic, carrots and celery in oil until soft and fragrant.
  3. Add spices and coconut flour, followed by a half cup water. 
  4. Add tomato, pumpkin, beans in liquid and honey.
  5. Bring to boil and then reduce to a simmer. 
  6. Simmer on low heat for 20 minutes, stirring frequently and adding 1/2 cup of water as needed.
  7. Adjust seasonings to taste. I did not need any additional salt, but I ended up adding in a little extra cinnamon, cocoa and honey.

Serve as is or use half a roasted pumpkin as an edible bowl! Enjoy. 

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Karina

     /  October 17, 2012

    I love that shirt! Where is it from?

    Reply
  2. Ali

     /  October 17, 2012

    I made pumpkin chili this week too!

    Reply
  3. Hi beauty! You look radiant! Sorry we could not celebrate this week but we will soon! Didn’t realize it was your 26th too! x

    Reply
  4. I made this for my parents the other night with some cornbread — and they loved it! (Which is saying something, considering my father is NOT an adventurous eater and normally regards any of my vegan ventures as utter madness, and probably slightly poisonous.)

    Reply
  5. happy birthday, from a fellow October ’86-er 😀 XX

    P.S. Thanks for sharing the pumpkin chili recipe, looks fantastic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

