Savoury Breakfast Frittata (Vegan and Gluten Free)

One of the benefits of living in a big city – and the thing I missed most when I moved away – is the sheer variety of foods I have access to. I live in a Tibetan neighborhood, two blocks from my favourite Portuguese bakery (egg tarts. i die.) and three blocks from a string of West Indian roti restaurants with the hottest pepper sauce I’ve ever tasted. I mean…I’m the luckiest girl.

Beyond restaurants, my city is also full of these tiny hole-in-the-wall grocery stores that full of inexpensive “specialty” foods. Yesterday, when I made a stop at one of these grocers to pick up Chana Masala seasoning, I spotted a massive bag of Chickpea Flour for under 4 dollars. MINE!

I’ve experimented with Chickpea Flour (or besan) before but nothing has ever compared to this latest win. I tasted something similar to it in New York from a vegan foodstand at a farmer’s market in the lower east side and this was my first attempt at recreating what I’m loosely referring to as a “frittata” in that it is savoury, high in protein, can be mixed with any veggies you like and baked. I don’t have a fancy cast iron pan but I imagine it would be perfect prepared in that.

Savoury Breakfast Frittata
Vegan, Gluten-Free

photo-1

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups chickpea flour
  • 2 cups liquid (I used a mix of almond milk and water)
  • 1/2 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 tbsp dijon
  • 1 cup of mixed sauteed vegetables (onion, asparagus, zucchini, peppers etc)
  • italian seasoning blend
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients together except vegetables together in a large mixing bowl.
  2. Pour into a loaf pan or baking dish lined with parchment paper or well greased with coconut oil
  3. Sprinkle cooked veggies evenly across the pan.
  4. Bake on 350 for around 30 minutes or until browned on top and cooked through.
  5. Allow to cool completely, cut & enjoy!
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

