Another day, another bowl of oatmeal.

I’m not sure about you, but I think I’ve come to a point in my life where I’m no longer settling on my morning bowl oatmeal. It’s what I truly crave. And I’m okay with that.

2014-06-26 08.04.21

Of course I knew my days of corn pops, toaster strudels and nutella spoons for breakfast were long gone. I was comfortable letting that go. But so too are my days of the greasy hangover breakfasts. Pardon me if my eggs these days are poached, not fried. I’m not afraid who knows it. And while we’re on the subject of all things poached, has anyone else started feeling like brunch lines these are just too arduous to bear? And rarely worth the effort? “I’ll make my eggs at home, thank you very much. And mine will have a perfect yolk every time.”

So yes today is just another day. But it’s also the day I encourage you to wake up and smell the French Press, in the kitchen you no longer have to apologize for when people walk in your apartment. Today is the day to own your adulthood. To stop apologizing for being “lame” or “old” just because you’ve mastered the art of taking care of yourself.

Simple Summer Oats: 

1/2 cup oats
1/2 sliced banana
tbsp of each: coconut, goji berries & chia seeds
drizzle of almond butter & raw honey
dollop of greek yogurt 

2014-06-26 08.05.03

So yes…I am eating oatmeal for breakfast. And not because I’m on a “health kick” or a “detox.” For no reason other than that I woke up jonesing for it.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

